Shake 293: The lucky country

January 23, 2011

Pocket Steve, Uluru, Northern Territory (Australia), 2002

With our city stopping for Oprah’s whirlwind tour last year, I thought we’d all but forgotten her. And without so much as a glimpse of her in town (I stayed well away from the hysterical crowds and road closures), I also missed this week’s back to back shows reliving her visit Down Under with the final instalment tonight. I’m assuming at some point she stood in front of our sacred orange rock? I was fortunate enough to feel the outback’s bright orange dirt between my fingers, stay in a remote Aboriginal community and walk around Uluru myself about 6 years ago. Sometimes we Aussies forget that we have the most magnificent and unique landscape right in our own backyards.

The real thing

The deluxe tents we stayed in thanks to the Titjikala Aboriginal community

Storytelling with the community elders by the fire

Leave a Reply

