Shake 258: On the sixth day of Christmas…

December 19, 2010

Aunty Joycie, Wagga Wagga (Australia), year?

…six geese a-laying, five golden rings, four calling birds, three French hens, two turtledoves and a partridge in a pear tree.

I’ve never been a strong follower of tradition nor have I ever been much interested in Christmas trees until this year. I never knew what was meant by a tree decoration apart from the obvious purpose its name implied. But when Newfie opened my eyes to his family tradition of giving each other decorations year after year in order to dress their tree, rather than plainly purchasing them, the tree suddenly became a beautiful, meaningful thing. Yes, I am always in search of meaning. And yes, I’ll admit, I’m a little sentimental as well.

So has this led me to drag in my first tree? No, but I have been busily giving ornaments to dress my loved ones’ trees instead. Maybe next year.

4 Responses to “Shake 258: On the sixth day of Christmas…”

  1. Cookie Says:

    We love love love our new ornaments for the tree. And yes, we are jealous of the beauty Newfie received! One day, my day will come!!!

  2. Lea Says:

    I have a tree waiting for meaningful ornaments!


  3. […] mentioned at Christmas last year that I’d learned the reason behind tree decorations from Newfie. So this dome took on a totally new meaning for me, which in turn means that I may just […]


Leave a Reply

