Shake 224: Too much information

November 15, 2010

Andie, Norway, Dec 2008

So, it’s been 8 months now. We’re over the honeymoon. Do you think we should take this B-relationship to the next level? Time to get personal.

I made an interesting discovery about myself. I had an unwelcome rash befriend my arms last week and rather than accusing the regular amounts of gin and tonic I was ingesting, the weird fish cake or my mum’s abalone was pinned to the stake. We have an allergic gene in our family. I am often visited by rogue rashes but my family show no sympathy and scold me instead for all the weird things I eat (last time it was sea urchin). My eldest sister has serious bouts of hayfever and recently, we watched her impersonate Angelina Jolie while her lips began to balloon and swell up post-chilli crab! The other sister has the most sensitive skin ever. When we were young, we’d use our fingers to draw letters on her forehead and watch the skin puff up and turn red so the words were legible. Don’t we sound lovely?

Usually the rashes disappear after a couple of days, but this one teased and persisted and it wasn’t until I eliminated what I had hoped was least likely to cause it did my unwelcome friend leave me. So it’s either gin or tonic (quinine) or both! And I’m not brave enough to test which one. I am moving onto vodka.

2 Responses to “Shake 224: Too much information”

  1. Caesar Says:

    LOL, look into desensitisation/exposure therapy 😛


Leave a Reply

