Shake 219: School day

November 10, 2010

Andie, Boston (US), Sep 2010

In between joining a class about the human digestion process (where I learned a couple of things myself!) and individual reading with some gorgeous kids, I learned that I haven’t lost it! I was the Handball Queen today.

When I asked whether I could join a group of 4th and 5th graders in their game, I was met with a lot of excitement and a couple of dubious looks. The game hasn’t changed much in 20 years: there are still arguments are whether the ball was in or out or on the line and the same pleas for replays. A yelling session of New Rules vs Old Rules happened around me, and I still don’t know the difference, but the Old Rules were enforced. Phew. The older boys liked to play dirty with their tricky slogs and it seemed like I was the only one able to beat them at their game as all the girls chanted ‘Miss Snowdomes! Miss Snowdomes!’ on the sidelines. With strong determination written all over their faces, they took me on as their challenge. I was instructed about 5 times to be there at 11.30am and 2.15pm next week. This is going to be fun.

One Response to “Shake 219: School day”

  1. Cookie Says:

    Makes me happy that you’re out there in the playground playing handball with the kids! I am often not in the right area or have too many bandaids to hand out!


Leave a Reply

