Shake 64: Un-POP-able

June 7, 2010

Me, The Pop Shop (Sydney), 2007

This snowdome has a bittersweet story. Most of you Sydneysiders will remember the Pop Shop – a cute store on the colourful end of Oxford St selling all manner of knick-knacks, toys and collectables. Not sure how long they’d been operating for, but it was definitely part of the Oxford wallpaper. So when I heard that it was closing down, I wiped a tear from my eye and I hopped down there in a jiffy. This snowdome was my last shared moment with a piece of Sydney’s history. Why was a Sydney store selling a London snowdome? Good question, but I have to say, that was just the Pop Shop.

You may be feeling a little melancholy now, but I’ve got some good news for you. Rumour has it that they’ve just popped up again on Crown Street near the Bentley. Should I be finding myself a return-of-the-native dome?

Leave a Reply

