Shake 59: A dome of distinction

June 2, 2010

Claim your dome! Port Gruissan (France)

People always ask me which one holds the prestigious position of favourite snowdome. My answer is always the same – I love them all. When it comes to remembering each contributor and contribution though, sadly I have to admit that the most distinctive ones win. The unfortunate thing about this is that it seems to motivate people to hunt for the best dome EVER, so they overlook all the cheap plastic ones you see all the time. But I have to tell you – I loooooove cheap and tacky.

Having said this, I am very disappointed with myself today. It’s pretty clear that this snowdome is really unique, but I’ve forgotten who gave it to me. Anyone?

2 Responses to “Shake 59: A dome of distinction”

  1. alex Says:

    Why that would be from me me and hj!

    Gruissan is a tiny coastal village. It has an ancient fishing village part built around a crumbling tower, joined up to a modern resort part, all surrounded by water and quiet countryside dotted with vineyards.

    It was home away from home in 2004-5 when i was teaching in narbonne. I had a lovely little apartment (with the world’s smallest kitchen) overlooking a little canal and bridge. There’s a pic (not mine) here:
    http://www.panoramio.com/photo/18980617

    So for 9 or 10 months of the year, the place is virtually a ghost town. There were times the streets were like something out of 28 days later and i would literally see noone. Then in summer, it becomes a resort. Restaurants and nightclubs open. People descend from god knows where and rage all night and bake on the beaches all day for their summer holidays. Thankfully I left just as that was getting into swing.

    hj arrived by train from Paris and we battled against the winter chills from the freezing winds of the Tramontane! She stayed a month and during that time we spent all our free time driving the surrounding through the surrounding etangs (swamps?) trying to get close enough to snap the pink flamingoes that she was kind of obsessed with and of course finding this dome. 😉

  2. snowdomes Says:

    WOOOO HOOOOO!!!! and I loooove the story that goes with it. Hey, you guys really rock. Sounds like HJ’s pink flamingo obsession has been going for years, she gave me a flamingo dome quite a while ago, but that’s for another post!


Leave a Reply

