Shake 55: M-m-m-my Cremona

May 29, 2010

Andie, Cremona (Italy), 2009

I think I prepared myself for the worst, so today’s photo shoot with lots of kids wasn’t as bad as I had expected. Not a single panadol went down. But after all the encouragement like ‘oooh look up at that!!’ and ‘let’s all run around like crazy’ and ‘how about jumping over that ball!!’, I am up for a nice quiet night with a couple of glasses of wine. And when I look at this dome, suddenly some soothing classical tunes sound like a great accompaniment to the drinks!

For those of you not in tune with the world of stringed instruments, Cremona was the hub of high quality musical instrument manufacturing from the 16th century and the home of the most famous violin craftsman, Stradivari. Every time I look at this snowdome, I feel like I’m being taken back hundreds of years. So my day has taken me on a journey from the very young to the very old.

Andie, I am loving your European stint, it’s doing wonders for the collection…NOT that I wouldn’t prefer you closer to home! The other day, out of the blue, the Hubs sighed and said he wished you were back – if that’s not a sign that you’re missed, I don’t know what is!

Leave a Reply

